University of California, Riverside


Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence

Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence

Business students for your favorite instructors!
Voting is open from April 23 to May 10.

In recognition of their commitment to outstanding research, expertise in their field and devotion to teaching excellence, Dr. Sean Jasso and Dr. Ye Li are the undergraduate program 2017 Golden Apple Award winners. And Dr. Timothy Gubler and Dr. Ashish Sood are the graduate program 2017 Golden Apple Award winners. The Golden Apple Awards is an annual student-voted teaching award given to outstanding faculty.

In judging the effectiveness of teaching, students were asked to consider a professor's ability to teach their material with force and logic while simultaneously making it understandable for students. Students also weighed the professor's attitude, mentorship ability and their capacity to inspire and mentor.

Dr. Sean Jasso, a senior lecturer of Management, won the core courses category for the undergraduate program. He teaches Business Ethics, Law, Marketing and Distribution Management, Competitive and Strategic Analysis, Senior Honor Research, Honors Research for Undergraduates, Special Studies, Leader of Tomorrow Theory, Practice, Directed Studies, and Honors Individual Internship.

Dr. Ye Li, an Assistant Professor of Management, won the elective courses category for the undergraduate program. He teaches Judgment, Decision making, Feld Colloquium, Directed Research, Research for Thesis Dissertation, Special Studies and Fieldwork in Management.

Dr. Timothy Gubler, Assistant Professor of Management, received the award for the core courses category for the graduate program. Tim Gubler teaches both Strategic Management;and Management Synthesis. In the fall semester, he will also teach Fieldwork in Management.

Dr. Ashish Sood, Assistant Professor of Marketing, won the category for elective courses for the graduate program. Ashish Sood teaches Fieldwork in Management along with Research for Thesis. He will teach Directed Studies in the fall semester


The two categories are:

  • Preparation for Business Administration major (BUS 10 and 20) and Upper-division major requirements
  • Elective courses


All Pre-Business and Business Major students are eligible to vote. Any faculty member (ladder-rank and lecturer) who has taught at least 3 classes in the last two years is eligible for the award. After winning an award in a category, a faculty is not eligible to win the same award for the next 2 years.

Evaluating Teaching Effectiveness

In judging the effectiveness of a professor’s teaching, students should consider such points as the following: ability to organize material and to present it with force and logic; capacity to awaken in students an awareness of the relationship of the subject to other fields of knowledge; fostering of student independence and capability to reason; spirit and enthusiasm in teaching; ability to arouse curiosity in students, to encourage high standards, and to stimulate students to creative work; personal attributes as they affect teaching and students; extent and skill of the professor’s participation in the general guidance, mentoring, and advising of students; effectiveness in creating an academic environment that is open and encouraging to all students, including development of particularly effective strategies for the educational advancement of students in various underrepresented groups.

Selection Process

Voting is online and is open to all Pre-Business and Business Major students. The names of eligible faculty will be listed in each award category and students will be asked to vote for up to 3 professors in each category. The winners are selected based on the most student votes.



Ye Li, Assistant Professor of Management


Sean Jasso, Continuing Lecturer of Management


Tim Gubler, Assistant Professor of Management


Ashish Sood, Assistant Professor of Marketing

More Information